Saskatchewan Trucking Association

The History of the
Saskatchewan Trucking Association

How It All Began

The year was 1937, and although the province of Saskatchewan had only 132 miles of paved road to accompany 2,402 miles of gravel, it was blessed with an energetic group of truckers who felt there was a need to present a united voice when dealing with the provincial government. Thus was born the Saskatchewan Motor Transport Association (SMTA).

In the late 1950s, the organization changed its name to the current Saskatchewan Trucking Association (STA). Over the years it has helped the industry fight its battles in everything from deregulation to weights and measures. It has always been there to represent the industry in discussions with the government.

From city halls to the Saskatchewan Legislature to the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa, the STA has always represented Saskatchewan truck transport with strength, pride, and honesty, reflecting the industry for which it speaks.

STA AGM Gala Awards

Join Today

The Saskatchewan Trucking Association Logo

in 2017, to commemorate the 80th Anniversary of the Saskatchewan Trucking Association, a special logo was designed.

In May 2016, the STA decided it was time to create a new image. Some of us will fondly remember the red truck in our old logo but we are going through a time of revitalization and modernization which just seemed to call for a change. Change is good!

As to be expected with an organization about to turn 80, the logo has changed several times.

The trucking industry has changed significantly

Since our beginnings in 1937...and so has our Association.

Why has the STA survived and been successful?

“The STA has continued to flourish due to the dedication of its Board members and its membership.  And we can’t forget the daily contributions of staff that often toil in the background while making the organization tick.  We’ve been fortunate in maintaining strong working relationships with governments, regulators, stakeholders and other truck transport organizations across Canada and the US.”

Al Rosseker, Executive Director (2008 – 2016)

Original Trustees

  • Moose Jaw: Dave Skingle & James McLellan
  • Regina: Harold McElroy, Sam Poland & Adam Pounder
  • Saskatoon: Jack Lewis & J. Byers

Founding Members

  • Basil Hindmarsh
  • Tom Atkinson Sr.
  • George Peacock
  • George Solomon
  • George Smith
  • Pete Maiers

A History in Training Commercial Drivers

Although the STA is no longer a truck driving school, and we no longer have tractor/trailers, we still offer training for commercial drivers in a variety of topics related to safety and compliance.

The truck driving school ceased operations in 2011, but the STA continues to provide classroom training related to safety and compliance.

The Wallace Street training facility is part of our history and has been part of many truck driver’s beginnings. Our future training facility will continue to assist the next generation with their training needs.

The Saskatchewan Trucking Association is the leader and voice for truck transport in the province of Saskatchewan.  As proactive trusted advisors, the STA is a knowledgeable membership association that represents the collective interests of the truck transport industry through authentic advocacy and education.

Our COVID-19 Statement